Royal stamps for Royal Society

Royal Mail Stamps has issued a commemorative set of stamps in the UK to celebrate the 350th anniversary of the Royal Society this year. The stamps feature ten of the most prominent fellows of the Royal Society:

  • Robert Boyle – Chemistry
  • Sir Isaac Newton – Optics
  • Benjamin Franklin – Electricity
  • Edward Jenner – Vaccination
  • Charles Babbage – Computing
  • Alfred Russel Wallace – Evolution
  • Sir Joseph Lister – Antiseptic Surgery
  • Ernest Rutherford – Atomic Structure
  • Dorothy Hodgkin – Crystallography
  • Sir Nicholas Shackleton – Earth Science

The stamps marry portraits of Fellows with imagery representing their science. Apparently, the list was selected by leading figures in the Society.

One thought on “Royal stamps for Royal Society”

  1. I have to say I wonder how long we will be using stamps – I can’t remember the last time I used one, especially a special edition one.
    Good to see the importance of these scientists being recognised though.

Comments are closed.

If you learned something from Sciencebase, enjoyed a song, snap, or the science, please consider leaving a tip to cover costs. The site no longer runs Google ads or similar systems, so your visit is untainted.